Membership.—The 54 States which are Members of the League (November, 1930), together with the dates at which membership was taken out follow:—

Country	Date	Country	Date
Abyssinia	Sept. 28, 1923	Japan	Jan. 10, 1920
Albania	Dec. 16, 1920	Latvia	Sept. 22, 1921
Argentine Republic	July 18, 1919	Liberia	June 30, 1920
Australia	Jan. 10, 1920	Lithuania	Sent. 22, 1921
Austria		Luxemburg	Pac. 16 1920
Belgium		New Zealand	Jan. 10, 1920
Bolivia		Nicaragua	
Bulgaria		Norway	
Canada		Panama	Jan. 9, 1920
Chile		Paraguay	
Chiqa	July 16, 1920	Persia	
Columbia		Реги	
Cuba		Poland	
Czechoslovakia	Jan. 10, 1920	Portugal	
Denmark	Mar. 8, 1920	Roumania	.April 1920
Estonía		Santo Domingo	Sept. 29, 1924
Finland		San Salvador	Mar. 10, 1924
France		Serb-Croat-Slovene	
Germany		State 1	Feb. 10, 1920
Greace		Siam	
Guatemaia		South Africa	
Haiti		Spain	
Holland		Sweden	
Honduras		Switzerland	Mar. 8, 1920
Hungary		United Kingdom	Jan. 10, 1920
India		Uruguay,	Jan. 1920
Irish Free State		Venezuela	
Italy		·	

The following ten states are not Members of the League:—United States of America, Brazil, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, Turkey, Egypt, Ecuador, Mexico, Afghanistan, Costa Rica, and the Heiaz.

The Organs of the League.—The primary organs of the League are:-

- 1. The Council.
- 2. The Assembly.
- 3. The Secretariat.
- 4. The International Labour Organization.<sup>2</sup>
- 5. The Permanent Court of International Justice (at the Hague).

The Council.—The Council was originally composed of four permanent Members (the British Empire, France, Italy, and Japan) and four non-permanent Members to be elected every year by a majority of the Assembly. The first non-permanent Members, appointed by the Peace Conference and named in the Covenant before the first Assembly met, were Belgium, Brazil, Greece, and Spain. With the approval of the majority of the Assembly, the Council may appoint new permanent and non-permanent Members. At the Assembly of September, 1926, Germany was admitted to the League and given a permanent seat on the Council. At the same time the number of non-permanent seats, already increased to six in 1922, was further increased to nine, the period of office to be three years. In order to institute the new system of rotation, three were elected for one year, three for two years, and three for three years, so that at all subsequent Assemblies three members retire instead of nine at once. Any tnember of the League not represented on the Council shall be invited to send a representative to sit on it at any meetings at which matters especially affecting it are being discussed. A similar invitation may be extended to States not Members of the League. Canada was a Member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930.

 $<sup>^1</sup>$  Also known as Yugoslavia or (incorrectly) Jugoslavia.  $^3R_{\rm S}$  the International Labour Organization see Section 4 of Chapter XIX of this volume.